Were you accused of driving under the influence? If so, your future could be at risk. Contact a DUI attorney in Rochester Hills to build a strong argument and dispute your OWI charges in court.
The state of Michigan takes drinking and driving seriously, and if you aren’t careful, you can easily get charged with an OWI, also often referred to as a DUI, or driving under the influence. An OWI is the legal term for operating a vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Even if you aren’t intoxicated while driving, a Rochester Hills police officer may pull you over without good reason to do so and charge you unexpectedly. Once you’ve been arrested for an OWI in Rochester Hills, you’ll need a strong legal team to fight your charges in court.
A Rochester Hills DUI lawyer from Schwartz Law Group can look into your case and try to weaken any evidence brought against you. There may also be procedural errors in how the police arrested you, as one example. Our team understands that your future is at stake, and we’ll fight hard to get your drunk driving charges reduced or dismissed.
Your penalties for a DUI or OWI can differ based on whether it’s your first or second offense. The penalties can also be more severe depending on whether your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level is above the legal limit of .08 or more dangerously above the limit of .17.
Michigan charges most DUI/OWI offenses as misdemeanors, and your charge will usually only escalate to a felony if bodily injury was involved in the accident. A first-offense misdemeanor DUI or OWI conviction can land you in jail for up to 93 days and may result in up to $500 in fines.
The Rochester Hills police use a series of testing methods for drunk driving. Initially, the police may use a preliminary breath test (PBT), which is a quick but less accurate way to test for drunk driving at the scene of an arrest. You’re allowed to refuse this test, but if you do, you’ll usually receive a civil infraction resulting in a $100 fine.
The Rochester Hills police may also use a more accurate DataMaster Breathalyzer test at the scene of the arrest or when taking you to the police station. Although you can refuse this test as well, your license will typically be suspended for one year if you do because of Michigan’s implied consent law. If you refuse, the police may then require you to take a blood or urine test.
It’s scary when the police charge you with an OWI, but knowing you haven’t yet been convicted of a crime can give you hope. With the help of an experienced DUI attorney from the Schwartz Law Group, you can take the time to prepare for court and have help fighting your case in court.
If you’re ready to talk about your case with a Rochester Hills DUI lawyer, call 248-930-5019 or fill out the contact form below to schedule a free consultation.